Han-C emerges the biggest Winner at the YAMAs

  • Boipelo Seleke is Icon of the Year
  • Nothing for most nominated comedian and rapper William Last KRM


Self-taught singer/songwriter, Hanceford “Han-C” Magapatona, is smiling all the way to the bank after winning the biggest prize of P60 000 at the 7th edition of the Yarona FM Music Awards over the weekend.

Han-C scooped the biggest award of the night after fans voted him as the people’s choice for Artist of the Year. The versatile vocalist also went on to win the Best Male Single Award with his song, “Padi Padi,” bagging another P25 000.

“This is quite an achievement, especially because I was nominated alongside brilliant and talented artists,” he said when accepting the awards. “a special shout-out to my team for putting in the work. Thank you to Yarona FM for giving us this platform, especially now during the pandemic. This win really lifted our spirits.”

Another highlight of the jam-packed awards ceremony was when the Director of Yarona FM, Dumi Lopang, revealed that media personality; Boipelo Seleke, was the Icon of the Year. Lopang said Seleke was by far one of radio’s favourite daughters whose journey started when she was a well read 21-year old university student with charming wit and an appetite for creative content.

Now on prime time radio doing the morning slot on Yarona FM, Seleke’s career began as a weekend presenter. “She was as real as it gets on air, blessed with an inquisitive mind that left no stone unturned in pursuit of her broadcasting excellence,” Lopang said.

“She possessed a real ear and eloquence for relatable on-air content while maintaining a unique sense of humour. Boipelo was a champion for women empowerment on air and for the girl child in general. We thank FNB Botswana for supporting this category and paying homage to those who have paved the way.”

A beaming Seleke said she was grateful for the recognition and to be given flowers while she can still smell them by a radio station that gave her the platform to grow her voice and share her thoughts, especially that this is happening at this uncertain time of COVID-19.

Music’s greatest night also featured grand performances by the industry’s greats, Dato Seiko, La Tonde and Names, KhoiSan, Ndeya Boys (Flyboi Que, Jordan Moozy and Luther October) and William Last KRM. Although he was the most nominated artist at this year’s awards, celebrated comedian and rapper William Last (Motsetserepa) did not bag any award.

All the winners did not only win coveted awards but also prize money ranging from
P10 000 to P60 000.



Best Kwaito – Eskimos with Kwalata tsa Katara
Best Collabo – Flyboi Que FT Jordan Moozy and Luther October “Ndeya”
Best Dance Single – Lloyd BW FT Priscilla “Have You Ever”
Best Amapiano – DJ Bino ft Sasa Klaas, Rasun & Da Qutness “Savanna”
Best Female Single – Girly “BMW”
Icon of the Year-Boipelo Seleke
Producer of the year – MB ON THE BEAT
People’s Choice Song of the year- La Tonde and Names ft. Rati “Di bulele”
Best Male- Han C
Best RnB is Jordan Moozy ft Yaw Bannerman
Best Hip-hop is Ozi F Teddy ft Murda
Best Social Media- Mjamaica
Hall of Fame- Sasa Klaas
People’s choice Artist of the Year-Han C